15th Annual Motorcycle Convention

Motorcycle enthusiasts from all over the Philippines will convene at Baguio City on May 8-10, 2009, to celebrate the 15th Annual Convention of the National Federation of Motorcycle Clubs of the Philippines. Under the theme “One Philippines” the three-day event seeks to harness the growing number of motorcycle riders in the country to promote road safety as well as a renewed sense of eco-consciousness and patriotism.

Recognizing the important role of motorcycles as a mode of transportation for millions of Filipinos, President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo has issued Proclamation Order 1720 declaring May 4-10, 2009, as Philippine Motorcyclists Week. The proclamation also directed the Department of Transportation and Communication (DOTC) to coordinate the observance of Philippine Motorcyclists Week.

Under the leadership of national president Reynaldo Berroya, the 15th National Convention of the National Federation of Motorcycle Clubs kicks off on May 8, 2009, with a Unity Ride for the Environment, which seeks to gather the largest number of motorcycle riders in an unbroken motorcade from Metro Manila to Clark Field, Pampanga, to generate funds for tree-planting and other environmental activities.

Pres. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo is expected to flag off this historic ride, which will bring together motorcycle clubs and enthusiasts from all walks of life and from all over the country.

The 15th National Convention, with the theme “One Philippines” will be held at the Baguio Convention Center from May 8-10. About 1,500 delegates representing the federation’s member-clubs from all over the country are expected to attend. With Baguio City celebrating its centennial year, Mayor Reinaldo Bautista will be extending the city’s hospitality as the convention host city.

The host clubs for the National Motorcycle Convention are Lawin Motorcyclists Club, under the leadership of Reynaldo Berroya, and the Vigan Heritage Club with Bonito Singson as president. Gen. Fernando Pace is the organizing committee chairman for the convention while Bobby Fariñas heads the Unity Ride organizing committee.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s